8 Comments
Feb 20, 2021Liked by Loren Feldman

For 3 long weeks my two key employees were out with COVID - first because they each needed to take care of family members who had tested positive, and then they both came down with it while staying home. I felt like the last person standing on a deserted ship-wrecked island! My business was about to have its biggest month in decades. We had thousands of dollars of new orders pouring in - and it was just me and a handful of part-time workers. As the founder, I had developed most of our daily operations, but it had been years since I'd done all of the tasks myself. The first few days I walked around in circles muttering to myself. Then I triaged by sitting at each person's desk, figuring out where they were in the timeline of each open project.

What did I learn?

Well, first and foremost; Know what's going on in your organization! Luckily I currently have an amazing team (this wasn't always the case!) They're both so organized and deliberate that each task they perform, they do exactly the same way, each time. There's a protocol for picking an order. There's a protocol for boxing an order. There's a protocol for replenishing inventory. If you know the protocol, you can jump in wherever someone left off. This experience also screams for everyone to cross-train with at least one other person. No one should ever be indispensable. (And everyone should feel comfortable taking a stress-free vacation, knowing the world won't fall apart without them!)

Second, make it a point to periodically walk a mile in your employees' shoes! Shadow them. Do what they do! Man oh man do I appreciate my employees 10 times more than I did a month ago!! They work really hard. I was exhausted at the end of every day. My body literally hurt! I didn't realize how much physical work they do everyday. The good news is that I came up with a slew of techniques (and tools) to pick orders quicker, with less strain on your back, legs and neck. One of which was purchasing a "mechanic's creeper" which allows you to sit low to the ground but with the ability to scoot from spot to spot (like when you're replenishing inventory on the lowest shelves of a unit, taking items from production and placing them in their home on the warehouse shelf.)

And last, when your employees make a suggestion or have a complaint, listen. I mean really LISTEN!! My folks had been complaining about the way I'd designed a new product and what a pain it was to package. All I heard was; "wahh, wahh, wahh". Yah. That is, until I tried packaging those darn things myself. What a friggin' pain in the butt those new products were! Who thought this was a good idea?!?!?!? uh, that would be me. Their fearless leader. It goes without saying I won't be making that mistake again.

I'm happy to report that everyone is back at the office and feeling well. Although I wasn't able to package, pick, pack and ship every order we had in-house - I was able to at least queue things up so that when my team returned, they could hit the ground running. And they did. They're amazing. Since they've been back, I've made it a point to let them know, with much sincerity, how much I truly appreciate them.

Expand full comment
Feb 20, 2021Liked by Loren Feldman

The crisis further highlighted the importance of kindness in the professional setting. I don't want to mistake this comment for being "nice." I do however want to highlight how just a little bit of kindness can go a long long way, especially in remote work. We never know what someone else is dealing with so we need to remember to be kind.

Expand full comment
founding
Feb 20, 2021Liked by Loren Feldman

I've posted a few articles on LinkedIn regarding my lessons learned from the last year. The biggest one: Be prepared. There will always ben another business downturn. Your panel has said it a number of times over the past year: Make sure you have "dry powder" available (e.g. cash).

My personal toughest (business decision) was to take on debt for the first time in the company's history. Through the SBA, I got a (very) low interest EIDL loan and am working hard to pay it off before the first payment is due, while keeping enough dry powder for 1.5-2 years of operations.

Expand full comment

Main lesson: it's a lot easier to weather a huge loss of revenue when the government hands out huge piles of cash.

Expand full comment