48 Comments

I think you need to pull from a few more diverse sources. I have a subscription to WSJ and read a number of the other major news sources. Perhaps add in some commentary.

Expand full comment

First, I truly appreciate that you reached out to your audience to ask.

I can't answer for everyone else, but from my side, it has been a very busy time. I was trying to consistently read your publication but lately I've had to make some judicious choices of where to spend my time.

One thing I can add, I also feel like I am inundated with content lately. From new podcasts to new newsletters, all coming from my professional network it can be hard to pick and choose. This is a trend I expect to see continue as more and more individuals develop and work on their personal content.

Expand full comment

I have been spamming almost everything, but NOT your stuff. I wonder if it’s a blip related to the transition to post-pandemic. And yeah, there is so much content coming at folks that some may just need a breather.

Expand full comment

Good Morning, Loren! I read your e-news, although to manage my time, I process all my newsletters into a READ folder that I read usually over the weekend when I have less time demands and can better focus. Maybe check your open rate on a weekly basis since I often wait several days to click the open button.

Expand full comment

I can't and won't speak for everyone...but the 21 Hats newsletter is an email I open EVERY day...although I may only click through on 1-2 articles (or maybe none) where my curiosity is captured...for instance...the story yesterday about mini-robots...after reading the article...I ultimately ended up reaching out to the company to schedule a demo for my own business...(you should get a commission if I end up buying / leasing one of their machines).

Don't change anything!!

Expand full comment

For me, the newsletter has definitely been hitting GMail promo folder a lot more than it used to, even as I constantly move it back into the main. So there are days it gets missed if gets buried in my marketing spam.

Expand full comment

Thanks for asking for feedback, Loren. I also tend to wait until I know I have enough time and then read several of your newsletters at once. And, despite the occasional lag time in reading, please know it is a must read for this small biz guy! Appreciate the WSJ article sharing arrangement and look forward to learning from your "no you don't have to be a numbers guy" contributor.

Expand full comment

The newsletter is always a source of helpful information.

Living in Europe, I would appreciate more international topics.

Expand full comment

Hi Loren. I'm a daily reader. I just don't have time to keep up with every newspaper (and appreciate the lack of firewalls on your links) but, like Evan, Gmail puts your newsletter into my promo box, even after I move them into my main box, and I have to search for them. Might be happening to others as well? Enjoy the weekend.

Expand full comment

I too read most every day. My only suggestion would be to add new sources from time to time to spice things up a bit. A short interview from a "regular business owner" about some struggles and how they overcame a problem. Right now everyone is trying to figure out what to do as the economy begins to bust out again.

Expand full comment

Loren, I admire your courage to ask. Is open rate an obsolete, oversold stat in publication world? With a great brand name like yours, many people will keep in inbox, open but not read to stay PC. The better stat is % read, % skimmed and % glanced which is open and deleted. I know HubSpot gives great data in 3 categories above. 20% with a high read rate is better than 40% and glanced or even skimmed. For a talent like you, I encourage you to consider the ultimate open rate - number of paid subscriptions, the oldest newest thing in media today. It is really a minor ask to help you do more for the reader. Open and read rate avg’s 76.6%. To paraphrase Mark Twain, everyone seems to get serious when the wallet gets involved.... otherwise talk and we know how much that costs.

Expand full comment

Hey Loren,

Here's my .02 cents, in addition to amplifying some other comments.

I think we're in a trough.

I believe we've moved past one moment (isolation, stress, challenge of "new way of business") but are not yet into the new moment (roaring economy, hiring, new customers). I'd also add that because Covid disrupted so much, we're struggling to find what the "new normal" is, as no one (I know) thinks it will match 2019.

This is not universal; some have already transitioned. Some, are still stressed. But I am hearing from many they are working very, very hard and that cultural forces are starting to really show in a big way (ala our mutual friend in Texas who thinks this will be the year of employee churn).

As a result, owners have far less discretionary time, and tend to do some of the behaviors highlighted in other comments (consolidation, weekend reading, etc). I also think this has consequences for how many NEW signups you can get right now which is further stressed by everyone and their brother trying to build a podcast/newsletter/video.

Some of these ideas are mine, some are from other places. What really connected the pieces was this Bloomberg article: "Boom Times are Coming if Only You can Wait"

https://www.bloomberg.com/opinion/articles/2021-04-16/boom-times-in-manufacturing-aerospace-are-coming-but-not-yet

Expand full comment

Perhaps it is the growing distrust in journalism. I am more selective about my source of news and prefer alternative sources to get the whole picture.

Expand full comment

I don't know if this will help you but like everyone else in this thread, I am inundated with content. It has gotten to the point where I am no longer really interested in reading "what I want to read" - Instead, I want to read articles that make me a bit uncomfortable of that express points of view that are not always aligned with mine but that may interest me. CNN and Fox were never considered. NYT is gone. WSJ is hanging on by a thread. Economist is my go-to. And your writing, of course.

Expand full comment
founding

I'm thinking that 20% isn't too bad. I always look at the subject line, but if it's applicable, I delete without reading, however I always listen to the Morning Report Podcast in conjunction with the dog walk. Unfortunately, the "morning report" seems to always arrive a day late or in the afternoon - so I'm always a day or two behind. I just figured that the Morning Report is more-or-less, "The Morning Report When it Finally Arrives to You."

Expand full comment

If I don't have time to read it at that moment, I save it because I know there's going to be a lot of info and I need time. Also, in my own work we are noticing a drop in some engagement. We are hearing that there are more demands on our audience as things open up. Not sure if that resonates, but thought I'd share.

Expand full comment

Hi Loren,

Long time no see. Maybe 40 years. My 2 cents:

1. 20% is not bad

2. Less is more. You are offering a lot which is daunting for folks who get lots of emails and newsletters. Maybe I won't open it because I know there will be a lot there that is hard to skim.

3. It's not really easy to skim. Maybe more headlines and sub heads that tell me what I'm going to read based on what source so I can easily decide if I want to read the whole article. Some newsletters even give a few bullets at the top summarizing what's below so you can quickly decide what you want to read or read at all. Fear of "heavy lifting to figure that out" might scare some opens away.

4. Right now your layout is text heavy with only a couple of different font sizes and one color. Add some white space. Divider and pictures if you can. Break up the text again to make it a little more reader friendly. I think it would be worth playing with layout a lot given the incredible work you are doing on edit. Maybe the next question for your readers is what newsletters do you read regularly and knock off their look.

You've got great stuff....think it can be a little easier to digest.

Mark

Expand full comment

Hi Loren, have loved the podcast and news letters, I honestly think since the world is opening up a little bit more, that we are moving away from our desk a little bit more, there for spending less time engaging in emails. I think we all are looking for balance in this new Covid world. keep up the good work!! Linay Thomas Sheltra

Expand full comment

I agree a lot with Mark Bernstein's comments.

My guess is the move from 25% to 20% is just the acceptance rate. You've kept 80% of your initial audience. That seems like an applause worthy feat.

I agree that less is more. It's a long scroll. To your credit I get to the bottom pretty much every time. But I could see others bailing given its length. Also a question of if 6 days is necessary. Sometimes I just want to forget I own a business. Like on the weekends!

And I agree that the design is not especially helpful to what I assume is your goal. My eyes aren't pulled in any particular direction, which is a byproduct of fonts/photos/white space, all things Mark mentioned. And that's the real issue with going with a pre-fabbed template type format or a custom solution ($$$). Tough issue to find a solid answer to.

Biggest thing I would say is that you're brand new. Even though you're X months into it, you're brand new. So play with it. Try M-W-F only, try 6am delivery, try a different layout, try making it really short one or two days a week, whatever. Your base isn't going anywhere. Try some new things out and see if the metrics change. If they change for the worse, then go back to how you had it.

In short: Fail fast, fail cheap. One of the most helpful business phrases I've ever run across.

Good luck and I'll still be reading regardless!

Expand full comment

I'm haven't opened lately because I'm depressed, discouraged, overwhelmed, and pissed off because of covid, everyone's irrational fear of it ruining the world and everything enjoyable and good about life in this country, and the left actively destroying our country. And no, I'm not a Republican or right wing extremist. Just observing reality. So I stare at my computer for hours and lose precious productivity and haven't kept up with email for months. That honest enough for you? So no - it's nothing you've done. Though, it is sometimes annoying when your links go to sites that have a paywall. I can't subscribe to 50 different online publications.

Expand full comment